Which countries in Europe have implemented the European Union regulations on the protection of Whistleblowers?

Until December 17, 2021, all European Union Member States were required to implement Whistleblower Directive (EU) 2019/1937 of the European Parliament and of the Council of October 23, 2019. Importantly, most countries still have not fulfilled this obligation, delaying the implementation of the act. How is the implementation currently progressing in the European Union countries?

In which countries have the Whistleblower Protection Act already entered into force?

More than a year after the date on which the European Union ordered all Member States to introduce provisions on the protection of Whistleblowers into national law. At the moment, 13 out of 27 countries have done so, including:

  • France,
  • Denmark,
  • Ireland,
  • Greece,
  • Portugal,
  • Finland,
  • Sweden,
  • Cyprus,
  • Lithuania,
  • Latvia,
  • Malta,
  • Romania,
  • Croatia.

In the rest of the countries, the draft law is currently in parliament or under discussion. The exception is Hungary, where there is still no project.

As for Poland, on December 21, 2023, the Ministry of Family and Social Policy published another draft act on the protection of Whistleblowers on the website of the Government Legislation Centre. At the moment, the document is to be considered, but its implementation is still in progress.